Roscommon Town Heritage
Taking a step back in time...
Follow Roscommon Town Heritage on Facebook

History & Heritage

History & Heritage > Buildings > Roscommon Museum

Roscommon Museum

Located in the Square opposite Bank of Ireland and is also called Harrison memorial Hall and originally was the Presbyterian Church. Many exhibits of the towns and counties past are on display there. Items include a ninth century inscribed slab from St. Coman’s foundation, Church Street, Roscommon; a dugout canoe; portrayals of Castle; Dominican Priory and Old Jail histories, with numerous other items that help to illustrate Roscommon’s past from the dawn of history. Next door to the Museum (Regans Pub) is what was once Mitchell’s Hotel and from where Charles Parnell made one of his last speeches from a window there in 1891. The other building next door (Gleesons Guest House & Restaurant) use to be the Manse to the Presbyterian Church.

Further Reading Sources:
See publications section of website
Roscommon’s Fifth Church by Martin Dunne

Volume 2 – 1988 Roscommon Historical & Archaeological Society Journal
  • Page 43: Drawings: Examples of Star of David or Creators Star
Volume 4 – 1992 Roscommon Historical & Archaeological Society Journal
  • Page 39: Co. Roscommon Museum/Tourist Office (John Harrison memorial Hall) by David Molloy
  • Page 61: Some 17th century Renaissance Style Sculpture from Roscommon Town by Jim Higgins, MA
Volume 8 – 2000 Roscommon Historical & Archaeological Society Journal
  • Page 101: Roscommon Presbyterian Church
Roscommon Association Yearbook 1992
  • Page 53: A Museum for County Roscommon by Michael Fitzmaurice
Roscommon Association Yearbook 2000
  • Page 44: Roscommon Town Museum by Martin Dunne